Cubs News

Cubs prospect makes franchise history with award

8 months agoJake Mozarsky

It’s been a busy offseason for Cubs prospects, who continue to bring in awards since the MLB season ended in October.

On Saturday, infielder James Triantos received the Offensive Player of the Year award for the 2023 Arizona Fall League (AFL). Triantos, the #13 ranked prospect in Marquee Sports Network’s preseason rankings, became the first player in Cubs history to win the award, which was introduced in 2021.

In 22 games in the AFL, Triantos batted .417 and led the league in triples with 5, while ranking second in slugging percentage (.679), OPS (1.144), hits (35) and bases (57). The AFL was not the only indicator of Triantos’ potential — this season in High-A South Bend, he hit .285 with an 11% strikeout rate while driving 4 home runs and 46 RBI.

The 2021 second-round pick joins an exclusive list of Cubs prospects to win an award in the AFL: Jason Dubois, Sam Fuld, Kris Bryant and Nelson Velasquez have won MVP honors. While Triantos fell short of MVP, which was given to Padres’ prospect Jakob Marsee, the Offensive Player of the Year award is a big one.

Triantos becomes the fourth Cubs prospect to win an award this offseason — Moises Ballesteros and Cade Horton won the Cubs’ Buck O’Neil Minor League Player of the Year and the Vedie Himsl Minor League Pitcher of the Year respectively, and Pete Crow-Armstrong won the MiLB’s Defensive Player of the Year. The Cubs have a deep prospect pool filled with individual accolades.

Don’t Miss Out On The Action!

Sign up for the Marquee Sports Network Newsletter today for all the latest Cubs news, plus upcoming Marquee programming and much more!

Newsletter Signup
Consent *
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.